MW3 – My Thoughts

There has been a lot of talk, in blogs as well as youtube, about the next installment of the Call of Duty franchise and yes, I am talking about Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. I have been hearing dozens upon dozens of rumours about: maps, the prestige system, perks, guns and ‘proficiencies’ that will be appearing in MW3. Some of these rumours have been confirmed, while others have either been denied or Infinity Ward hasn’t revealed specific details about the rumours in question. Today I just want to discuss my thoughts, thus far, about MW3, what I’d like to see and what I expect the ‘communities’ reaction to be about the game.

From what I have seen and heard, the game seems to be a beefed up version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. The graphics seem, well, rather similar to those of MW2. As far as I know, they used the same game enginefor this game as they have for the past few Call of Duty games. Robert Bowling said on Twitter that: “…In Multiplayer, its all about you and your gun, plus explosives have been lowered in damage and new anti-explosive equipment added.” Personally, I don’t mind n00b tubes, rocket launchers and all of those other explosive weapons… many people seem to have an issue with it, but if it wasn’t for those select few people that use those weapons, the game would not be nearly as fun, or as difficult, at times. Sure, it CAN get annoying, but if there were no rifle mounted grenade launchers the game would be much less fun, difficult and it would biased towards those players that excel while using SMG’s, Assault Rifles, etc. People need to understand that although the “PLAYERS” want a game that is a perfect game, they will never get it. The more you take away stuff, the more you alter the game in a MAJOR way. If you take away the grenade launchers, there will always be another thing to complain about, soon, there will be NOTHING left in the game… We’ll all just run around with knives.

I’ve seen a couple of videos regarding the create a class set-up, weapons, prestige, death streaks, kill streaks and much more. Here are a couple of videos discussing a few things regarding those previously stated topics:

Now, those are just a few videos that I’ve watched recently, but I’m sure if you searched on youtube you’d be able to find many, many more about MW3.

It is rumoured that you will have to reach level 80 before you can prestige and that there are 15 prestiges. I don’t know about you, but I HATE prestiging. The only CoD game I have done it on, legitimately, is Call of Duty 4. Personally, I think it is a huge waste of time and it really isn’t worth it, but hey, if you like to prestige and lose all of your weapons, attachments and so on, then by all means… keep on keepin’ on. As far as the weapons side of things go, I’m excited to see the return of the CoD 4 style MP5 and G36C [Robert Bowling confirmed this in a tweet: “…Not all of them, but I’ve confirmed the COD4 style MP5 and G36c make a return (as seen in the Spec Ops video)”]. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, was THE BEST CoD game produced and to see two of my favourite guns come back is quite awesome. Regarding the power of certain weapons, I’m not too sure what it’s going to be like. Obviously there will be an overpowered SMG and Assault Rifle, as usual, but as far as which guns will be overpowered, I’m unaware. I’d like to see a rather even damage count, but we all know that won’t happen. Killstreaks to me aren’t that big of a deal, although I do prefer the CoD 4 style 3, 5 and 7 killstreak layout, but obviously that won’t be making a return in MW3. Some killstreaks seem to be rather overpowered, let’s hope that we don’t get another MW2 style chopper gunner aka Spawn Raper 2010… The way I feel about deathstreaks is the same way I feel about killstreaks, I don’t give a shit. I just like playing the game, the killstreaks and deathstreaks aren’t something that I really bother with.

I think that the majority of people that play this game will “LOVE” it when it first comes out, but after a couple of months (more likely weeks) complaint, after complaint, after complaint will begin to happen… It will essentially be the same thing that happened after the release of both MW2 and Black Ops. I don’t know about you guys, but I am really looking forward to this game and I will most likely like/love it. I don’t hate any CoD game, but I do have favourites (CoD4 being my personal favourite).

Leave a comment below with stuff that you have heard, questions you have, or just general discussion.

About Calum Stewart

19yr old college student. Multimedia Design/Film and Media Production Boxer, hockey player
This entry was posted in Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment